Homemade Granola

The inspiration to make my own granola came after I sampled Cafe Fanny’s boxed granola for the first time. It was good but a bit too sweet for me and when I looked at the list of ingredients on the box and noticed there was powdered milk in it, I knew I wanted to make my own. I am not dairy free, I just thought it odd to eat powdered milk in granola. Searching for compatible online recipes, I found this one that is accompanied with a how to video. (I just clicked on it to make sure it works and I apologize for sending you to such an ad filled website.) I began my first granola trial using this recipe sans wheat germ and halving the amount of honey. I used sunflower oil, (the same as Cafe Fanny) and for the fruit and nut options, I used chopped almonds, dried apricots, and raisins. It was delicious. Since then, I have made this numerous times and have made a few more adaptions to the recipe. Cafe Fanny has also changed their recipe and omitted the powdered milk and added whole wheat flour instead. The great thing about granola is how difficult it is to mess up and how you can adapt it to your own tastes and eventually just eyeball the ingredients and throw them in a bowl, hippie style.

Hippie Granola – adapted from Marisa McClellan at Slash Food and Cafe Fanny Granola

I prefer to use all organic ingredients

3 cups non instant rolled oats – increased from original recipe

1 cup peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans – I do not pre-toast any of the nuts

1/2 cup sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds or both- I do not pre-toast these either

1/4 cup sesame or flax seeds or both

1 cup dried fruit – raisins, apricots, cranberries, strawberries, currents, etc.

1/4 sunflower oil – I have never tried coconut oil but that would probably be good too

1/4 cup honey

1. Mix the oats, nuts and sunflower seeds in a large bowl. (do not add sesame or flax seeds or dried fruit yet)

2. Mix in the oil and honey. (I actually just glob the honey in and eyeball the amount)

3. Toss everything until evenly coated and spread onto a lipped cookie sheet and set mixing bowl aside for future use.

4. Bake at 300 degrees for 15-20 minutes, turning it with a spatula at ten minutes.

5. Pull out and add sesame or flax seeds and toss again.

6. Bake for another 10 minutes. It should bake for 20-30 minutes total. It depends on your oven and how golden you want it to be. I usually bake for 25 minutes total.

7. When it is done to your liking, return to bowl and mix in dried fruit. Let cool completely before storing.

8. Eat by itself or with yogurt or milk. I usually eat it with my own homemade almond milk and it is delicious! (I will post a recipe for it in the future)

* if anyone knows how to single space instead of double space after hitting enter please tell me. It is my first WordPress frustration.

Leave a Reply

